Home Features APF’s Malla and Gurung grab title of Ligalige Cycle Race
February 21, 2021

APF’s Malla and Gurung grab title of Ligalige Cycle Race

Ligligkot, Gorkha: The Armed Police Force (APF) players have clinched the title of the historic Liglige Cycle Race for men and women.

APF’s Laxman Malla won the men’s title and APF’s Shoni Gurung won the women’s title. Malla crossed the 52.9 km distance in 2 hours 22 minutes and 55 seconds to win the Liglige Cycle Race. Similarly, Gurung crossed the 52.9 km distance in 2 hours 56 minutes, and 7 seconds. The first-place winner was awarded 25,000 cash prizes and medals.

Similarly, Himal Tamata of Tribhuvan Army Club bagged second place. He crossed the finish line in 2 hours 31 minutes and 35 seconds, while Okesh Raj Bajracharya of Tribhuvan Army grabbed the third award by crossing the finish line in 2 hours 36 minutes, and 56 seconds. In the competition, Anil Maharjan crossed the distance in 2 hours 41 minutes, and 23 seconds and secured a consolation prize.

On the women’s side, Laxmi Magar of Nuwakot finished second in 3 hours 2 minutes, and 9 seconds, while Usha Khanal of Gorkha finished third in 3 hours 9 minutes, and 2 seconds. Similarly, Hume Budha Magar of Pyuthan crossed the finish line in 3 hours 12 minutes, and 55 seconds for the consolation prize. The second, third, and consolation place winners were awarded cash prizes of Rs 20,000, Rs 15,000, and Rs 10,000 respectively.

Similarly, Sandeep Sudauli of Kaski, Lekh Prasad Bhatt of Gorkha, and Shiva Shrestha of Palungtar, Gorkha came first, second and third respectively in the men’s category. On the women’s side, Usha Khanal of Gorkha came first, Keshari Thapa Magar of Lamjung second, and Jamuna Thapa Magar of Kaski third. The first, second, and third place winners in the competition within Gandaki received 5,000, 3,000, and 2,500 cash and medals respectively. There were 62 male and 17 female participants in the historic cycle race.

The winners of the competition were awarded prizes and medals by the Mayor of Palungtar Municipality Deepak Babu Kandel, Deputy Mayor Pampha Basel, Executive Officer of the Nepal Tourism Board Dhananjay Regmi, President of Nepal Cycling Association Gopal Sundar Lal Kakshapati, and President of Liglig Village Sports Sanjeev Ranamagar.

The competition was sponsored by Nepal Tourism Board and Palungtar Municipality and co-sponsored by Siranchok Municipality and Rainas Municipality. Nepal Cycle Association provided the technical support and media was coordinated by Highlights Tourism while the flag was courtesy of Gorkha Society Hong Kong and the registration fee for 20 players was sponsored by Chitwan Physical Fitness Center. Race route volunteers Boudha Himala Youth club, Communication sports cycle, T-shirt sponsored by Appipal resident and social worker Man Kaji Shrestha (Hongkong)


Comments Off on APF’s Malla and Gurung grab title of Ligalige Cycle Race

Check Also

Yukta and Prakash Conquer Unclimbed Khumjungar Himal in Winter

In a remarkable feat of skill, determination, and environmental consciousness, mountaineer…