Home Features Everest Award to Shambhu Tamang and Kami Rita
July 7, 2021

Everest Award to Shambhu Tamang and Kami Rita

Kathmandu: Everest and Tenzing-Hillary awards have been announced. The Ministry of Culture, Tourism, and Civil Aviation has selected nine climbers for the award on Sunday.

According to Mira Acharya, director of the tourism department, based on the recommendation of the award committee, Shambhu Tamang, who has maintained the record of ‘youngest Everest climber’ for a long time, will be given the Everest award of Rs 100000 for 2020 and Kami Rita Sherpa, who climbed the highest Everest for 25th times in 2021.

Similarly, the Tenzing Hillary Award of Rs 50,000 will be given to seven climbers. Sanu Sherpa, who has already climbed 14 of the world’s 8,000-meter-high mountains before 2019, will be awarded the 2020 Tenzing Hillary Prize for the second time.

Ang Dawa Sherpa and Pasang Futi Sherpa, the world’s first couple to climb Mt. Everest together in the same season, and Nyingma Nuru Sherpa, who climbed Mt. Everest 22 times at the age of 37, will also receive the 2010 Tenzing Hillary Award.

The 2021 Tenzing-Hillary Award will be given to Mingma Galje Sherpa, Funjo Jangmu Lama, and Sarmila Lama of Dolakha. On the basis of the recommendation of a five-member award committee formed under the coordination of Director-General of the Department of Tourism Rudra Tamang, Minister for Tourism Lilanath Shrestha on Sunday selected the names of nine climbers who will receive the award, which has been suspended for two years.

These awards are being given by the Government of Nepal on the occasion of Everest Day, which is celebrated all over the world on May 29, 1953, commemorating the day when the first human footsteps reached the world’s highest peak, Mount Everest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Mustang as international tourist destination

Luring Mustang as one of the top tourist destinations in Nepal involves highlighting its u…